By now, most people have heard about the horrible shootings in Buffalo, New York and Uvalde, Texas. Both shooters were 18 years old and had acquired their guns legally.
This raises the question: what is the minimum age for owning a gun in North Carolina?
Long Guns There is no NC statute specifically addressing so-called long guns–rifles, carbines, shotguns, etc. Instead, the minimum age for purchase is set by federal law (18 USC Chapter 44) at 18 years.
Pistols/Handguns Two NC statutes govern the issue of minors and handguns.