North Carolina

Legislative Building Timeline

North Carolina Legislative Building

State Legislative Building Commission created.

Recommended in 1958 by the Commission on Reorganization of State Government, the State Legislative Building Commission was formally established by NC Session Law 1959-938.  It gave the Commission the authority to acquire land, hire architects, approve plans and specifications, enter into contracts for the state, and expend funds for the construction, furnishing, and equipping of of a new building for North Carolina’s legislative branch.

Construction began.
Construction began.

Formal ground breaking  at the Legislative Building site was on December 28, 1960 and construction began about 2 weeks later.

Inaugural Session convened.

The General Assembly’s inaugural session on February 6, 1963.

House Chamber tapestries presented.
NC House Tapestry - Coopers Coat of Arms

Presented to the people of the State on April 21, 1968.  Each panel depicts the coats of arms of two of the Lords Proprietors of the Carolina Colony, which was chartered by King Charles II in 1663. The tapestries were done in the single-eye needle fashion of hand embroidery by Arthur H. Lee and Sons Tapestry Works at Birkenhead, England.

Legislative Office Building opened.
Legislative Office Building

Construction began in 1979 and the Legislative Office Building opened in 1982.

North Carolina Belongs to Children mural installed.
Close up of a red cardinal between two white dogwood flowers from the mural "North Carolina Belongs to Children" by NC artists James and John Biggers.

Created by artists James and John Biggers from Gastonia, this 1994 mural reads like an unfolded map of North Carolina.

Inside the quilt-like design are the topography, industry and symbols of the state from the mountains to the coast.  The lower register depicts children playing with toy models.  Each toy refers to a particular aspect of North Carolina’s history and culture.

Senate Chamber renovated.
NC Senate Chamber with bright red carpet.

The chamber remodel included new cherry desks, red carpet with 50 gold stars, permanent benches along the wall for staff members and a new Senate seal.

House Chamber renovated.
House Chamber renovated.

The makeover included installation of wood paneling behind the Speaker’s dais and addition of electric outlets and data ports at all members’ desks.

Sine Dine canteen opened.
Shelves of refrigerated drinks and snacks

Snack vending room opened –  for fueling up and recharging during those long legislative days.  Sine Dine was named via NCGA staff naming contest.

Committee rooms renovated.
Renovated Committee Meeting room in the Legislative Building.

Committee rooms underwent asbestos abatement and complete renovation.  They received new carpet and furniture and were rewired to accommodate an audio feed,  so the public can listen in to committee meetings.

Questions about the Legislative Building? Contact the Legislative Library at 919-733-9390 or