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Response to the December 17, 2014 report of the Performance Evaluation Division entitled: 
“Occupational Licensing Agencies Should Not be Centralized, but Stronger Oversight is Needed” 

 
The North Carolina Locksmith Licensing Board and its 1216 licensees appreciate the hard work of the 
Performance Evaluation Division to examine the structure, organization, and operation of the State’s 
various independent occupational licensure boards. The Board however disagrees with FINDING 5 and 
FINDING 6 of the report, essentially stating that the NC Locksmith Licensing Board be eliminated or 
consolidated. Additionally, the NC Locksmith Licensing Board disagrees with the methods used to 
determine these Findings as well.  
 
The North Carolina Locksmith Licensing Board was established in 2001 by the NC General Assembly to 
combat the growing threat of scam locksmiths who price gouge consumers and damage property, 
leaving the consumer with little recourse. Locksmiths are persons who have the knowledge, tools, and 
skill set to obtain entry onto other people’s property. To protect the consumer’s health and safety as 
well as the integrity of their property, Chapter 74F, the North Carolina Locksmith Licensing Act requires 
that applicants complete a state and federal background check through the State Bureau of 
Investigation and a competency examination designed to test minimal proficiency in the locksmith 
profession. 
 
Locksmith scams have been covered in media outlets throughout North Carolina, including WSOC, WRAL 
and News 14 Carolina; and featured nationally on news programs, including the Today Show. To 
eliminate the NC Locksmith Licensing Board would be open season for locksmith scam schemes to 
operate in the state.   
 
The NCLLB considers its mandate to balance safety of the public, maintain technical integrity, and foster 
a regulatory environment that encourages competition in the locksmith and security industry, a serious 
matter. It is for these reasons that the NCLLB disagrees that its current structure leads to:  
 

• “Increased cost to the consumer.” Initial license with the NCLLB requires a $100 application fee, 
$200 examination fee, and a $38 background check fee. The license is good for three years. This 
results in a one-time $338 fee at application (or approx. $113/year). Renewal of license is $100. 
This results in a $33 per year fee to operate as a locksmith. The Board believes these fees do not 
place a significant burden on the licensee that would translate to higher costs to the consumer. 

 
• “Restricts the ability of individuals to work in the occupation.” Neither the NCLLB nor Chapter 

74F of the NC General Statute requires formal training before applying to become a licensed 
locksmith. The NCLLB does offer an apprenticeship license, but it is not required. Many licensees 
use the apprenticeship license as a way to work in the locksmith profession while preparing for 
the examination. Again, current state law does not require formal training or an apprenticeship. 
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• “Restricts public access to services.” The definition of locksmith services found in Chapter 74F is 
inherently broad in scope. Furthermore the NCLLB accepts all continuing education credits with 
regard to electronic security devices, as well as access control systems.  
 

• “Limits mobility of licensed professionals.” – The NCLLB finds a flaw in the logic that requiring a 
license in North Carolina would limit the licensee’s ability to practice in another state. For 
example, Virginia will still require locksmith licensure even if the North Carolina Locksmith 
Licensing Board is eliminated or consolidated.  

 
The Board furthermore asserts that the threats to public health, safety and welfare justify the societal 
costs for the continued existence of the Board. The Board states that the “scores” used in determining 
FINDING 5 (Appendix A) of the study, illustrate a methodology that is arbitrary at best and misleading at 
worst.  
 

• Public harm. As stated above, locksmiths are persons with the knowledge, tools, and 
skill set to obtain entry onto other people’s property.  

 
• Complaints. The NCLLB handles complaints against licensees for poor workmanship or 

breeches of ethical conduct when providing locksmith services to the consumer.  
 
Complaints of unlicensed locksmith activities are initiated with the NCLLB. If the accused 
party continues to resist obtaining a license, the NCLLB coordinates with local District 
Attorneys and law enforcement offices to charge the individual with a Class I 
Misdemeanor. The regulation and enforcement of this law is the responsibility of those 
agencies.  
 

• Disciplinary Actions. As instructed in G.S. 150-22, the NCLLB seeks resolution of 
complaints outside of Formal Hearings. This method has saved the Board and the State 
of NC time and resources. Findings of disciplinary actions are issued in Consent Orders 
with licensees or applicants; examples of which may include additional CE hours, 
increased supervision, or weekly or monthly work logs to the Board. At no point in the 
PED’s evaluation of the NCLLB were the number and documentation of these actions 
requested.   
 

• Other States. The NCLLB disagrees that the number of states with locksmith licensure 
should reflect the government of North Carolina’s determination to eliminate or 
consolidate the NCLLB. South Carolina, a state cited by the study, does not have 
locksmith licensing, whereas the commonwealth of Virginia, does have locksmith 
licensing. There are over fifteen states requiring licensure, with many more state 
legislatures with pending legislature. 

 



Phone: 919-838-8782 
Fax: 919-833-5743 
www.nclocksmithboard.org 

Finally, the NCLLB disagrees with the methodology used in FINDING 6; the recommendation of 
consolidation with another regulatory entity. This methodology used a dual scoring system to evaluate 
the “Annual Revenue Score” and “Financial Solvency Score” of each OLA.  

The NC Locksmith License is valid for a three year period. When the license was established, over 400 of 
the current 1216 licensees were granted licenses through a grandfathering provision. This has produced 
a three year “boom” cycle to the Board’s revenue. Due to this, an accurate assessment of the Board’s 
ability to generate revenue cannot be gained from examining one year. Recent changes to Chapter 74F 
have grandfathered another 275 licensees.  

This 3-year cycle applies to the Financial Solvency score as well. An accurate assessment of the solvency 
of the Board cannot be determined by looking at the net position to the annual expenses of one year.   

 

Sincerely, 

 

T. Alan Boone 
President, North Carolina Locksmith Licensing Board 


