

These tables were created by the Fiscal Research Division, a nonpartisan central staff division serving all members of the North Carolina House of Representatives and State Senate.

If approved by local voters, a county may levy an optional quarter-cent sales tax under G.S. 105, Article 46, enacted in 2007. To date, 46 counties have approved the tax; an additional 32 counties have held unsuccessful referenda.

Sales Tax Referenda History for Quarter-Cent Local Option Sales Taxes

Outcome	2007	2008	2009	2010	2011	2012	2013	2014	2015	2016	2017	2018	2019	2020
× Failed	11	31	1	16	0	6	1	11	0	19	0	21	2	9
✓ Passed	5	3	2	7	6	2	1	3	-	2	-	11	0	4
✓ Cumulative Passed	5	8	10	17	23	25	26	29	29	31	31	42	42	46

County-Level History of Quarter-Cent Local Option Sales Tax Referenda

County Referenda		County	Referenda	County	Referenda	
Alamance	xxxx	Franklin	None	Pamlico	None	
Alexander	\checkmark	Gaston	×√	Pasquotank	××√	
Alleghany	xxxx	Gates	None	Pender	None	
Anson	× ✓	Graham	××√	Perquimans	None	
Ashe	\checkmark	Granville	None	Person	xxx	
Avery	×	Greene	××√	Pitt	\checkmark	
Beaufort	None	Guilford	xxxxx	Polk	None	
Bertie	xxxx <	Halifax	\checkmark	Randolph	× ✓	
Bladen	xxxxx	Harnett	xxxx <	Richmond	×	
Brunswick	×	Haywood	\checkmark	Robeson	× ✓	
Buncombe	\checkmark	Henderson	xxx	Rockingham	xxx√	
Burke	×	Hertford	xxx√	Rowan	\checkmark	
Cabarrus	\checkmark	Hoke	None	Rutherford	××√	
Caldwell	×	Hyde	None	Sampson	\checkmark	
Camden	None	Iredell	×	Scotland	××	
Carteret	xxx	Jackson	\checkmark	Stanly	xxxx <	
Caswell	xxx	Johnston	×	Stokes	××	
Catawba	\checkmark	Jones	××√	Surry	\checkmark	
Chatham	\checkmark	Lee	×✓	Swain	××√	
Cherokee	××√	Lenoir	xxxx	Transylvania	None	
Chowan	xxx	Lincoln	×✓	Tyrrell	None	
Clay	××√	Macon	None	Union	None	
Cleveland	xx	Madison	× ✓	Vance	None	
Columbus	xxxx	Martin	\checkmark	Wake	None	
Craven	None	McDowell	×	Warren	None	
Cumberland	×✓	Mecklenburg	xx	Washington	xxx	
Currituck	None	Mitchell	xx	Watauga	××	
Dare	None	Montgomery	× ✓	Wayne	xxx	
Davidson	\checkmark	Moore	××√	Wilkes	×✓	
Davie	xxx	Nash	×	Wilson	×	
Duplin	×✓	New Hanover	\checkmark	Yadkin	xxx	
Durham	\checkmark	Northampton	None	Yancey	None	
Edgecombe	×✓	Onslow	××√			
Forsyth	× ✓	Orange	x 🗸			

 $x = \text{unsuccessful referendum}; \sqrt{\text{unsuccessful referendum}}$

Updated: January 2021